Motivational Letter to Apply China University (Peking University)

Mirza Idham Saifuddin
4 min readJun 12, 2023

--

In 2017, I obtained 2 scholarship from government called China Goverment Scholarship (CGS). I applied from embassy track and university track. In embassy track, i got offer from Zhejiang University while in university track i was accepted in Peking University. I hope, my motivational letter can help you to make your own statement.

Motivational Letter

I have always been passionate about entrepreneurship and business development, this passion had led me to earn a bachelor’s degree in business management from top university in Indonesia, the Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember (ITS). One of my ventures was becoming the co-founder of Kreasi Indonesia, software developer company. I successfully developed the company and oversaw the growth of the company from only two co-founders to nine staff members. Moreover, I founded other businesses, some of them had failed, however, others are active and profitable, such as my frozen food business, namely Wami Food (wamifood.com). During my journey, I learned how to develop business, create product market fit and build a network.

It is important for me to seek additional knowledge beyond the class lectures. Therefore, I actively participated in seminars and workshops. I also joined entrepreneurship organizations like Young Indonesia Entrepreneur community, called “Hipmi”, and Superior Business Management Unity (SUBMIT). I was a leader of SUBMIT. This organization goal was supporting university students to develop their own businesses. As a former leader of SUBMIT, my job descriptions were organizing people, conducting seminars, and building a network around young entrepreneurs. Furthermore, I often invited experts to coach student about business strategy and operation.

As for me, I have experience to assist Small Medium Enterprises (SME) as a business consultant in City of Tuban. My colleagues and I assisted the locals to develop an innovative product named “Raja Legen”, which is a product made from the sap of Siwalan (Borassus flabellife) trees. The product was then distributed in several major supermarkets in Indonesia, namely Carrefour Indonesia and Giant. Afterwards, we brought this project to a national competition named Danone Young Social Entrepreneur that we secured the 4th prize of the competition, obtained a scholarship. We collaborated with Danone to develop that place. Furthermore, Karya Salemba Empat (KSE), a national social organization that focused on leadership and entrepreneurship development also gave me a scholarship because my contribution for supporting SME development.

Today, Indonesia has only approximately 1.65% entrepreneurs which is still below the government minimum target of 2%. Increasing number of entrepreneurs could improve the overall economy of the country. With that mind, my plan would be to return to my home country and establish another business firm. This time, I plan to focus on the development of products that are based on agricultural resources. I think it would take around 2–3 years to ensure that my business can run well. In the long term, I would like to participate in local government programs that are designed to aid the development of SME. With support from the government, I would be able to help more and more people in my hometown, Nganjuk, in developing their own businesses by utilizing agricultural resources.

Furthermore, I want to develop Chony Zamany, my family’s non-profit organization that is located in the countryside of Nganjuk. This organization established a vocational school, and also provide non-formal education so that local people can earn better education. I want this organization would be able to develop its own business and allow the students to do a part time job. Furthermore. I also aspire to establish an agreement with several companies so that these students would be able to earn appropriate jobs after they are graduated.

Motivated by the facts above, I plan to pursue a master’s degree in Peking University which is ranking in the 27th in the world. It received awards from The Times higher education 2017. In addition, China is famous as the highest increasing economic growth in the world and become an interesting place where entrepreneurs could learn more about business especially in small-medium enterprises. Also Beijing is the heart of China industry and home of great companies. It is an ideal place for professional, academic and personal growth. Regarding Indonesia, China has similar economic condition where the SME has a pivotal role in economic growth which is the best place to meet the expert.

More specifically, I plan to take a Master of Management offered by the HSBC Peking University. In this program, I would be able to sharpen my entrepreneurial experience by learning more about a foundation in functional issues in management, Chinese economic and SME in its curriculum and meet some entrepreneurs who have similar interest in this major. Another interesting thing is the learning method that consistently applies theory to practice with various live projects. This will make students ready to apply their learning immediately in the working or post-academic environment after graduation. I also want to contribute to the university, such as adding written works to journals or joining campus volunteer programs. Besides, I have an opportunity to travel around China especially in Beijing to interact with China entrepreneurs and analyze how the SME’s could compete in the free trade area which they could make some breakthroughs in order to increase their efficiency. In future day, I have a plan to make relation with entrepreneurs in China in order to collaborate in business in export or import. Thus, I believe taking Master of Management program at Peking University, I will receive valuable knowledge and experience that crucial for achieving my goals to become an excellent entrepreneur.

Related Scholarship Tips :
Tips Menulis Essay Beasiswa Chevening
How to Write Chevening Essays

--

--

Mirza Idham Saifuddin

CEO of Kreasi Management | Managing Director Vocational School & Islamic Boarding School | Education Consultant